Counties and ‘Poor’ Lordships

County governors, the new lords of poverty, are
back in the news, again, with their hand in the till.
Never mind they burnt a whopping billion shillings on
travel in just under three months.
It is mind-boggling that only 47 men, perhaps 46 if we
don’t count the one who was sacked this month, have
such a spectacular gift of burning through a stash of
our taxes with such ease.
But what’s even more remarkable is that their petty
cash, you know, the kitty that’s spared for small
expenditure like tea and mandazi for some unexpected
guests, runs into millions, about Sh30m at the last
count.
Now, for ordinary mortals like you and I, our petty
cash implies the stash of coins thrown into a corner
after every trip to the shops, and which is gathered at
the weekend to buy a bamba finje or even the smaller
category of prepaid air-time.
For the governors, their equivalent kitty runs into
millions, and that’s just what the Treasury is able to
verify. There is possibly a little more that was allowed
to fall through the cracks of their expensive cabinets.

4 thoughts on “Counties and ‘Poor’ Lordships

  1. Pingback: AN
  2. Hey! I know this is sort of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does building a well-established blog like yours require a massive amount work?

    I’m completely new to operating a blog however I do write in my journal every day.

    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

    Like

    1. Hi, thanks for reading and stopping by. Your comment was marked as spam but I unspammed it by editing it (removed the links and ad-like words) because I thought what you asked is relevant and should not be Permanently Trashed.

      Blogging requires passion because you need to get your unique contents and publish them regularly, like you do in your journal.

      I have a comprehensive Blogging Guide (with screenshots) that will definitely get you up and running!

      Get it to your inbox! E-mail me the request using Dismoh@gmail.com today.

      Like

Comment or Leave a Reply

